Book 9 (2.0)

Many yeBook 9ars ago, when I decided to seriously focus on my writing, I had to decide what I wanted to write. Even though I really had no idea what I was about to let myself in for, I knew that it was going to be a lot of work and demand great dedication. Now call me hedonistic, but I wanted to have fun doing all that hard work.

So I chose a genre I love, topics I’m fascinated with and characters that I’m crazy about. Each book I write is great fun. I laugh (and then blush a little, because it is after all my ‘own’ jokes I’m laughing at), I cry (and am happy I chose that day to write at home—alone), I tense up and type faster and faster when the team is in danger (gotta get them to safety now!) and sigh with relief when they’re safely home, eating Vinnie’s dinner.

This is quite a long run-up to talk about the lack of progress charts for book 9. Well, in the last two weeks, writing became harder. Like reeeeeaaaaally hard. Sometimes this happens when I’m having a lazy day, so I push through it. But when a day became a few days and then went into the second week, I knew there was something bigger amiss. That’s when I looked at the story.

And that’s when I decided I didn’t like it. I wasn’t having fun with the bad guy, with the conflict it brought, the challenges Genevieve and the team had to face, and I wasn’t having fun with the team. My weekend in Ireland was exactly what I needed—it gave me just enough distance from the book to know that I needed to make changes.

Fast forward a week and I have tweaked the story (more like given it a complete do-over) and I’m having fun again! Instead of forcing the words out to make sure there’s progress each day, the words are now flowing through my fingers once again. The empty pages are filling up with situations that’s making me snort, wince, frown and pull many other faces because I’m feeling it. And loving it!

I fully believe that if I’m loving the story, living it, feeling it, this will show in my writing. It will jump from the pages and you will (hopefully) enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it. The tweaking of book 9’s story has delayed the publishing date I had in mind with (only) a couple of weeks, but I’m now so excited for you to read the adventures/challenges/fun the team is having in book 9, I’m confident you won’t mind.

Now I’m going to make another coffee and get back to letting the words flow.

PS. As much as I love the look of the typewriter in the picture, I’m loving all the benefits of writing on a computer!

61 thoughts on “Book 9 (2.0)

    1. Hi Estelle, I love your books and am trying to wait patiently for No. 9 🙂 I’d absolutely love to have the whole series as Whispersync Audio as well. Are there any plans for that in the near future? Love from Ireland.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much, Carol! Audio books are high on my priority list for this year. I will update here and on Facebook the moment it becomes more than just a priority. 🙂

        Like

  1. Looking so forward to your next book! I love reading your books for the same reason you love writing them. I can “feel” the characters- it’s like I am right there with them. You are truly a gifted author.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No matter where we work or how much we love our jobs at times we all need what I call a “mental health” sick day. Getting away to do something else we love seems to rejuvenate body and soul. Your trip to Ireland was yours. Say healthy and inspired. Looking forward to my second cup of tea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just a more delicious anticipation like waiting for Christmas! I have already planned my “reading nook” with my shawl, tea and reading light just for this book! Thank you for writing your way. It shows in the quality and worthwhile, believable characters who become friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just want you to know there are guys out here who really enjoy your books! I really like the characters, the book plots, and the art history. Genevieve is a lot of fun! Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the series, and a good friend I went to high school with just worked up the courage recently to publicly admit that she is on the AS, and specifically has Asperger’s. When I told her that not only did it make no difference in how much I love and appreciate her as a human being, but that she truly isn’t alone – and loaned her my Kindle copy of Book #1 – she was completely blown away. May your words continue to help light the shadows for those who struggle every day to find acceptance in a neurotypical world.

    Like

    1. Oh, my goodness, gigivarnum. What an amazing friend you are. And thank you so much for those incredibly special words. I’m deeply touched. Please give your friend my love.

      Like

  6. I love the series, and a good friend I went to high school with just worked up the courage recently to publicly admit that she is on the AS, and specifically has Asperger’s. When I told her that not only did it make no difference in how much I love and appreciate her as a human being, but that she truly isn’t alone – and loaned her my Kindle copy of Book #1 – she was completely blown away. May your words continue to help light the shadows for those who struggle every day to find acceptance in a neurotypical world.

    Like

    1. 😀 No problem. I once did this to my editor. I spammed her with about six messages – all the same message, all within two minutes! Then I told her it’s because I love her so much (quick thinking there!) 🙂

      Like

  7. Enjoyed your post and glad you got away to Ireland! Look forward to your books and your writing style. With a Granddaughter on the Autism scale your books are of special interest!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had to laugh when you said you had to hurry to get the team out of danger. I feel the same when I read; I can’t stop when characters are in jeopardy because I don’t want them to be stuck until I come back. I’m a big fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. At the end of the 7th book, she left us with several cliffhangers and we had to wait five years for the next book. Thank you for not doing that to us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I would not survive leaving anyone in danger (or hanging) for that long. Just the thought of it makes me want to start writing them out of trouble! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Estelle, your writing is so good precisely because you are willing to step back and reconsider! There are writers out there who are so enamored of every word they put on paper (or on a computer screen) that they never seem to think anything at all needs to be changed. Or maybe they are just lazy? In your case, however, you put not just time, but mind and heart, into your writing, and it shows!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dear Estelle,
    Indeed, forcing a story is not fun. I oft times do not title my writings so as to not get locked into ‘path’. Of course, my writings are just for grandchildren, friends, and family but they are delighted when I email them my latest “Adventures on the Front Porch”Now, with new back porch, I can expand my musings. It’s fun. Have closed down the herb garden for the season and am spending time tending to Jasper. We are hoping he will celebrate Christmas with us but it’s not looking good. 14 is old for his breed. Glad your detour to Ireland got your fingers flowing. Looking forward to your next book.
    Love,
    Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Melanie! I can only imagine how much pleasure you got from your herb garden and back porch in summer. Now is the time for hot drinks and cuddles (including cuddles for Jasper). 🙂

      Like

  11. We all need to take a step back every once in a while. I have started a book blog (addictedtoreading.weebly.com) and will be writing about you and Genevieve and the gang when the next book is ready. Looking forward to reading the next adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Heather! My apologies for only replying now – between my vacation and holidays I definitely have happy writing ahead to make up for all the delays. 🙂

      Like

  12. I have just finished your last book. Your writing makes me feel as if I am actually part of the team, and am living within the book. You have a wonderful talent that brings us into the plot and allows us to mentally participate with the team. I’m looking forward to your next book – and the one after that, as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Pat! My apologies for only replying now – it’s been a crazy (and fun) time with my vacation and the holidays. Wishing you a wonderful 2016!

      Like

  13. I have just discovered your books through Amazon, ad I am HOOKED. I am now on book three, and I am thrilled to know there will be six more to bury myself in. Thank you for choosing to become an author. (Something I have always wanted to try). You are articulate and inspiring. I can’t get enough. I am totally in awe of Genevieve. I am learning things I never knew about and now have a high respect for those who have suffered with Autism. Genevieve is a survivor and the team you have conjured up is extraordinary. I especially love Vinnie as my hubby is Italian…lol. The dynamics between Colin and Genevieve were created oh so gently and lovingly (with a little hate thrown in for good measure) :). I am enjoying watching their friendship and trust grow. I connect with your stories. You are now one om my favorite authors and I am telling everyone to read your amazing series. Keep up the good work and yes, continue to let your readers know when you need a little nudge or inspiration, we are here for you as well. Again. Thank you so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, my goodness, Cathi!! Thank you so very much for your kind words – such a great inspiration while I’m pushing to finish book 9. A million times thank you!!

      Like

  14. I just finished book 8. I actually read all 8 in 8 days, and yes I do work full time, I just read fast and reading is my all time favorite hobby. I also have a son on the spectrum. He is almost 30 and was not diagnosed until the age of 23 with Aspergers when we found it was impossible for him to hold down a job for longer than 3 months. These were all very public jobs and it was too much stimulization for him. Not as severe as your Genevieve but still. We finally got a job coach and he has now been employed for 6 years working in the kitchen of a health care facility. Your books let people know there is a job and friends for everyone out there somewhere, they just need to keep looking till they find it. By the way since I am new here, when is the expected time frame for book 9 release. Thanks Tracey

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, poohcrnr110. I’m so happy that your son was able to find a job that suited him perfectly. Something so small for other people, yet so huge for him and many others.
      I’m in the final stages of writing book 9 and will post another update on my Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/EstelleRyanAuthor/ – soon. (You don’t need a Facebook account to see my updates.) I never announce the release date until I get the book back from my editor. I first need to know how long the changes/rewrites will take before I commit to a date.
      So… be sure to peek in on my Facebook page once a while to see the progress and stay in touch. 🙂

      Like

  15. Just got one more friend to order your first three books Estelle!! So happy for her and can’t wait to have someone to commiserate with! Have a lovely day, and the next cuppa Joe is on the house…lol

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love your books so much that I couldn’t wait to get all the series 1-8. I also am so glad you are writing about a main character who is autistic but functioning at this level, she is truly wonderful to know. I am confused though, because it seems what I have as book 8 is book 9 (Moriset) or is there a new book coming out (I HOPE!!!!). Great stories, intelligent dialogue and such a pleasure to immerse into!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy that you’re enjoying Genevieve’s adventures, Sharon! The Morisot Connection is indeed book 8 and I’m busy finishing up book 9. I’ll announce the release date here and on my Facebook page as soon as it is confirmed. 🙂

      Like

  17. Dear Estelle, Sorry, it’s been awhile since my last post. Thank you for your comforting words concerning Jasper. I’ve been in a funk since his demise but have come to realize that you were correct and am remembering the good times/unconditional love. Thank you. Weather here has not helped…cold/snowy. So, I decided to take myself off to Savannah, GA. for their annual book festival in Feb. Not as exotic as your recent trip (I loved your pix!) but will be a bit warmer (I hope). Will meet with old college friend and spend some ‘girl time’ while our husbands (also college friends) remain at home 🙂 Lectures, book-signings, and wandering around River Street will be great.
    Glad you are back on track for Book 9. I look forward to the team’s next adventure. Thanks again! Love, Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, it sounds like you have a wonderful time planned, Melanie. I’m sure the change of scenery (and being surrounded by books!!!) will be just what you need. Enjoy every second of it! 🙂

      Like

  18. I have enjoyed each and every one of your stories and can hardly wait for the next one. You are responsible for more than a few late nights! I especially enjoy Genevieve. I work with high functioning autistic high school students and each one is so very unique. You have captured that uniqueness so well with her. Please don’t stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Linda! I truly believe that people like you – working with those on the spectrum – are unsung heroes. And I’m sure all your students would agree with me. 🙂

      Like

  19. Estelle, I have just finished your 9th book. I stumbled upon your series in iTunes and was immediately addicted (I think I have read them all in less than a month). I am a currently a high school art teacher, but my teaching experience has included Special Education and English. I have had the privilege to work with a variety of autistic students, and I love the character that you have created in Genevieve! Thank you for creating such a wonderful escape for my brain! I commend you on weaving such a variety of facets together: art history, technology, the crime world… I look forward to reading your next book!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Mary – it really means the world to me. I believe that teachers like you are unsung heroes and I feel like I should be the one thanking you for the amazing work you do with and for these wonderful young people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

