The Last Genevieve Lenard Book

I’m often asked how many books I planned (or are still planning) for the Genevieve Lenard series. I also frequently receive emails asking me to never, ever kill off Genevieve. Of course, this is the hugest compliment anyone could give me, but the end of a series is a topic I think about.

When I started The Gauguin Connection (Book 1), I knew I wanted to write a long series. That was why I took a lot of time planning the characters. I wanted a team that could continue for at least three books. They did. After I finished The Braque Connection (Book 3), I hoped for at least another two books. We got those.

Well, I’m now waiting for book 8 to be returned from my editor and my answer to the question so frequently asked is still the same as it was right in the beginning: I will continue to write adventures for Genevieve for as long as she and the team has stories to tell. (A note about the near future: Already my mind is mulling over an idea for book 9, and I have a distant thought about book 10. I reckon we’re safe for another book or two or three or…)

My aim with Genevieve’s stories to keep them fresh, fun and interesting. I believe that as long as I have fun writing the kind of books I enjoy reading and can’t put down, Genevieve will have a voice. And hopefully it also means that you will enjoy reading her adventures. I work really hard to make each book a wee bit better and wait with bated breath until the first reviews of a new book come in.

I apologise profusely (with a wicked grin) if the click-bait-ey title of my post caused mild panic attacks. After all the emails and other messages, I thought you would like to know that Genevieve doesn’t have a current expiry date (and the wonderful summer heat is adding mischief to my generally verrrrrrrry serious personality! *insert another wicked grin).

Wishing you a wonderful (sunny) weekend!!

 

 

45 thoughts on “The Last Genevieve Lenard Book

  1. I will enjoy another sunny weekend in Omaha, Nebraska with my third reading if the Braque Connection.Just gearing up for book 8.Thank you,thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep! You got me with that title! No! Please don’t let it be the last one! Very satisfying to find you have ideas for more books. Love this series! Thanks for your hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of the things that amazes me so about your books is that you always seem to be in front of the news, writing of things that we only later read about in the mainstream media. Do you have secret sources? A crystal ball? Second sight? I don’t know how you do it but I hope you will continue doing it for a very long time. The enjoyment has been immense throughout the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Joann. I’m a news junkie – love reading up on technology, etc. That’s often where I get my ideas from. Although… I like the idea of saying that I have ‘secret sources’!! (Francine would definitely love that!) 🙂

      Like

  4. The title was a definite gotcha. So happy to hear Genevieve is alive and well into the future. I’ve enjoyed each of your books. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You gave me a scare. I see your point but some of the other series I read have 15 books so I know you can do it. You need to have Genevieve marry Colin. Then have a baby. Manny realize he is in love. Nicki finish college and get engaged. Look at all my ideas so
    I think you can get a few more books out of these. HA HA….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am eagerly awaiting number 8 and all your research that brings your stories to life. My your wicked smile continue to help you through many books. It keeps your readers coming back and on own toes waiting for the next plot for these interesting and entertaining characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Just finished the last book! So engaging. I find myself wanting to know more about art, autism and Europe. Can’t wait for the next book. You are truly a gifted writer.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well, that post certainly grabbed my attention! So good to learn you have more ideas for future books in this series. After all, you had me at Book #1. Your characters are so believable that I liken them to personal friends. No, I’m not a weird person who has no real friends of her own. It’s just that you write very compelling stories and weave together the protagonists and antagonists so well.

    Sometimes, when browsing the Internet, I’ll see a picture of a huge library atrium several stories in high – stacked from top to bottom with books, or a shot from inside a foreign art gallery – foreign to me, at least, or a beautiful pastoral scene down the path from a winery or was it an olive grove, and I’ll think, “Now, that’s something Estelle could use as a setting for one of her scenes.” We each have our sources for inspiration, but yours our very well defined in your tales. If the “Genevieve” series must end, someday (sigh), I’ll be happy to continue with you in a new series.

    Estelle, you keep writing, and I’ll keep reading! Always wishing you the best life has to offer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Terri, I treasure your kind words. And I love all the scenery you described (I would totally use it for a setting, but also as a personal view from my veranda. Ah, one can dream!!). 🙂

      Like

  9. I can’t believe we are up to Book 8! By now I have usually gotten bored or frustrated with the characters or storylines. Not these! You keep developing the characters, relationships (v. impt.) and the storylines are fresh. That makes you my favorite author.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thanks for the continuation of the series. The thing I love most about the series is that each book is fresh and new with the same characters we have grown to love.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh my gracious! I did panic when I read the title of this blog! I just finished reading #7 and loved it! I can’t wait for 8!!! You are so talented and insightful! Notice all of the exclamation points? That’s because you and your stories excite me! You rock!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Claudia!!!!!! So glad to see I’m not the only one who loves exclamation marks!!!! Sucks that I can’t use rows of them whenever Manny is shouting or Francine is excited. 🙂 Seriously, though – thank you so much.

      Like

  12. Someone wrote that your books are topical and are sometimes ahead of the news. In one of the books you wrote about the art heist in Boston 25 years ago. Just yesterday in New York on the news they showed what they said was a just released tape shot 24 hours before the robbery. They think it was a dry run for the robbery the next day. It has a picture of what they think one of the man looks like. They are offering a $50.000 reward for information. Perhaps you could incorporate this into one of your many books you’re still going to write!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. @ Estelle and Michele deSilva — oddly enough, I recently came across another book on this subject called “The Art Forger” by B.A. Shapiro. Very timely, considering this anniversary of the Boston heist. Another good read while we impatiently stamp our feet waiting for #8 to arrive! 🙂 Hope I’m not stepping on any toes by mentioning another author on this thread, since Estelle always outshines the rest!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for the book suggestion, Joann. There are so many amazing books just waiting to be discovered – I’m always happy to check out someone else’s recommendation. 🙂

        Like

  13. OH, BE STILL MY HEART!!!!!!! I just couldn’t believe that I would never hear about Genevieve and all her cast of characters again.. I have them all pictured in my mind’s eye and cannot lose them at this time. I am so looking forward to the new book and many more to come.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ok, now that my mini heart attack has passed… I love your books and eagerly await each new book. I love this series and am glad it will continue for at least awhile longer. I have re-read this series several times. Please continue to write as you are my go-to author and I feel as though Genevieve and the others are my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. It is refreshing to see an author write about successful high functioning autistic person. I have a special need child and I find people focus on the weaknesses instead of seeing the strengths. I really enjoy your books because it blends so accurately the struggle and success the reality a person faces when a brain functions differently from “normal people” I look forward to reading more of your books.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dear Estelle

    Your wish succeeded! I nearly had heart failure at the thought of you ‘killing off’ what must be one of the greatest modern female heroes. Thank goodness you were teasing.

    May the stories continue to sprout. I need this at the moment as my husband has just been diagnosed with heart disease and is having a triple by-pass at Harefield Hospital rather swiftly at the beginning of September. He is apparently, one of a small percentage who doesn’t get any symptoms. It was only a fluke I made him go to our GP in the first place.

    Take care of yourself – and your Genevieve!

    Fond regards Felicity Allen

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Felicity. And a huge apology for giving you a fright.
      My thoughts are with you and your husband and I wish for him a speedy and full recovery. Please heed your own advice and take care of yourself as well. 🙂

      Like

  17. I just finished book 8 and LOVED it as much as the others! I’m excited to read the stories will continue. Do you have plans to reveal more about Colin’s and Vinnie’s past? I’d love to know how they became friends and their back stories. I hope Vinnie finds a love interest in a future story. Also, I know Genevieve doesn’t like to travel, but it would be interesting to see how she handles an emergency trip to help one of her friends. With Colin at her side, I’m sure she could do it. Thanks for the great books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying Genevieve’s adventures, Anne. Unfortunately, there are no French translations or plans for any at the moment. But who knows what the future holds?

      Like

Leave a Reply

