The Power of Mozart

Wolfgang-amadeus-mozart_1Firstly, a tiny biography: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was born in Salzburg, Austria on 27 January, 1756 – 259 years and one day ago. By the time he was 6 years old, he was playing multiple instruments. (6 years old – mind-blowing!) In his life, Mozart was incredibly prolific, composing hundreds of works.

His symphonies, concertos, sonatas, operas and other works are known for their emotion, sophistication and complexity. He died at the age of 35 (so young!) in his home on 5 December 1791. It’s said that so far his death has been attributed to 118 different causes, so I think it’s safe to say we don’t know what was the cause of death.

A few books have been written about the effect listening to Mozart has on our brains. It is said to affect our health, helps with concentration, aid mental development of children, calm our emotions, and a long list of other benefits. Another benefit is that the structure of Mozart’s compositions – the tempo, melodic and harmonic consonance, for example – aids in processing information, even helping the brain form new neural pathways.

I’m not an expert and don’t claim to support or disagree with these statements. All I know is that listening to Mozart while I’m working gives me a positive experience. I have not measured my ability to concentrate while listening to Mozart vs listening to my other music. Personally, it depends on my mood, the time of day, what work I’m doing and a few other factors. Like Jazz and Faro, I can listen to instrumental Mozart almost any time of the day for extended periods. Mozart’s operas require my full attention – I’ve seen most of them and enjoy them all, some more than others.

I included Mozart into Genevieve’s coping mechanisms for a few reasons. He’s well known, his music is known to have neurological value and it adds a bit of the classical to Genevieve’s character.

Will listening to Mozart work for you? The best is to find out for yourself. Below is a 6-hour video with Mozart’s works. The (very long) video has been especially put together for studying/concentrating. Put it on, continue your work and see if you feel any difference.

And… please let me know if you like it, love it, hate it, feel calmer and/or more focussed, etc. Enjoy!! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The Power of Mozart

Leave a Reply

