Merry Christmas!

xmasMy most heartfelt wishes for you and your family – may these few days be filled with hugs, laughter and love. This is the time of the year when we have the perfect excuse to gush about each other and I’m going to do just that.

It’s been an amazing 2013 for me. In so many different ways. I started out this year very uncomfortable with social media. I’m not the kind of person to put myself out there. But… I put on my big girl pants and committed myself to this blog and my Facebook page. [digression] I haven’t blogged for more than a month, mainly because I had to choose where to focus my energies and the choice was obvious – finishing book 4. [/digression]. In this time I’ve learned a few things:

  • I’ve been right all along: There are amazing people everywhere! I live with the believe that the overwhelming majority of people are wonderful (naive or not, I choose to believe this). People’s wonderfulness just needs to be free and unjudged to express itself. Here, but especially on Facebook, I’ve seen daily, weekly, people’s wonderfulness directed at me. Me! Little me who really am no more special than anyone being so generous in their love and support.
  • I didn’t expect such amazing support from total strangers. After a year visiting with some of you on Facebook, you guys really don’t feel like strangers anymore. I’m pretty sure that if we were ever to meet in real life, I would shamelessly rush over and hug the breath out of you! You’ve given me something more valuable than buying my books – you’ve given me your personal time and energy. It humbles me.
  • I really didn’t expect to enjoy social media! In the beginning of the year, I had a bit of a freak-out session with a friend, because this social media thing was too much for me. I even asked my sister to take over my Facebook page. Then I thought about it some more, and told my sis, who generously insisted to lift this ‘burden’ from me, that I would try this Facebook and blog thing for a bit longer. Now? I love seeing familiar faces on Facebook, liking my posts and commenting. It’s so cool! I now have friends – yes, I consider you my friends – in France, England, US, SA (more than before), Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Poland, and a few other places including Iraq! How cool is that!!!

This is me thanking you for making 2013 one of the most specular years of my life. (((((hugs))))))

 

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

    1. Thank you, Laura! Is there a term like ‘stranger-friends’? 🙂 Every time I see your smiling face next to a FB post when you like it, it feels like I’m seeing a friend. Again, thank you! Now back to book #4.

      Like

Leave a Reply

